Updates:

Fans are welcome!

Mockup: 2D (vector?) sprites in 3D world

Started by UserK, May 01, 2011, 11:04:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

UserK

Ok, I've been writing about this for a while now and toyed a bit with the idea.
Vector sprites have plenty of room for accurate precision work. This eventually got me sidetracked as I spent more and more time on building useless detail. I've been trying to draw everything in 2D fake 3D first but I'm not good at it. Then tried with some enemies with little success. Then I tried to compare with different scalers available in NEStopia (nearest neighbor, 2xSAI, hq2x, ScaleX) but this was still far from being meaningful: they cannot fill a screen nowadays. They are fairly good at reconstructing curves but no extra detail can be added.

UserK

I had to shave off more and more features from the concept idea. Also had technical difficulties: no 3D modeler I know rasterizes vectors. I rasterized the sprites to a hi-def texuture and used it instead. In the end, I lack artistic skills massively. Give me the gears and we can talk but you get what you get from me.
So here it is, more or less, what I had in mind.

Resized and compressed to fit the forum limit.

UserK

Note the extreme fuzzyness of Miria after all the vector work. Looks like asking for aniso filtering is too much for this application anyway lesson learned.

Vector sprites in 3D world are hard.
While I think I can work out something to make it work (perhaps just using hi-ref textures will do), they look flat. I don't think this is good. Perhaps a sequence of sprites would be needed, like in Doom, which would check the angle you see enemies and adapt the sprites. Problem is, the number of sprites required grow fairly fast with resolution so I don't think anymore mixing 2D and 3D is going to be feasible.